Denée Benton to Star as Cinderella in “Into the Woods”


(ENSPIRE Entertainment) Denée Benton Joins “Into the Woods” as Cinderella

ENSPIRE Contributor: Jacara Watkins

Jordan Roth, President of Jujamcyn Theaters, announced Tony Award Nominee Denée Benton will join the cast of the hugely acclaimed and much beloved New York City Center Encores! Production of James Lapine and Stephen Sondheim’s revival of “Into the Woods“. Benton reprises her role as Cinderella after debuting in the City Center Encores! Production at the St. James Theatre starting on Tuesday, November 22 through December 24. As previously announced, “Into the Woods” has extended for the final time, by popular demand, from November 22, 2022, to January 8, 2023. 

The company for “Into the Woods” includes Patina Miller and Montego Glover sharing the role of The Witch, Stephanie J. Block as the Baker’s Wife, ande Brian d’Arcy James as the Baker. Gavin Creel as the Wolf/Cinderella’s Prince, Joshua Henry returns as Rapunzel’s Prince (beginning on November 22), Katy Geraghty as Little Red Riding Hood, Jim Stanek as the Steward, Ann Harada as Jack’s Mother, Cole Thompson as Jack, and Alysia Velez as Rapunzel.

Denée Benton, Neil Patrick Harris, Sara Bareilles during the Opening Night Gala for the Encores production curtain call for “Into the Woods” at New York City Center on May 4, 2022, in New York City. (Photo by Bruce Glikas/WireImage)

Patina Miller will be The Witch for performances on Fridays through Sundays, and Montego Glover will take over the role Tuesdays through Thursdays. Please visit to view a performance schedule.

Ta’Nika Gibson, Annie Golden, Albert Guerzon, Brooke Ishibashi, Kennedy Kanagawa, David Patrick Kelly, Nancy Opel, Delphi Borich, Felicia Curry, Jason Forbach, Alex Joseph Grayson, Cameron Johnson, Paul Kreppel, Mary Kate Moore, Diane Phelan, and Lucia Spina will continue with the production.

Into the Woods“, the first Broadway show of the 2022-2023 season, is directed by Lear deBessonet, music direction by Rob Berman with The Encores! Orchestra, and choreographed by Lorin Latarro. This production is dedicated to the memory of Stephen Sondheim. The creative team includes Tony Award winner David Rockwell (Scenic Design), Andrea Hood (Costume Design), Tyler Micoleau (Lighting Design), Tony Award winner Scott Lehrer & Alex Neumann (Co-Sound Designers), James Ortiz (Puppet Design), Cookie Jordan (Hair, Wigs & Makeup Design). Casting is by Telsey & Co. and Cody Renard Richard serves as Production Stage Manager.

Into the Woods

Into the Woods” first premiered on Broadway in 1987, winning three Tony Awards including Best Score and Best Book. It has since been produced throughout the world and was adapted into a major motion picture in 2014. This production marks its first time on Broadway in 20 years.

Into the Woods” is produced by Jujamcyn Theaters; Jordan Roth; New York City Center; Daryl Roth; Hunter Arnold; Concord Theatricals; Nicole Eisenberg; Jessica R. Jenen; Michael Cassel Group; Kevin Ryan; ShowTown Productions; Armstrong, Gold & Ross; Nicole Kastrinos, Executive Producer. 

Tickets are available via

Related Articles: Into The Woods Cast Recording Now Available